Your Cart

All About the Five Sub Doshas Under Vata Dosha

All You Need To Know About Vata Dosha

If you are Vata Dosha body type then you must be aware of the thing that the Vata Dosha also has five sub dosha’s or segments. To better understand the Vata Dosha, it is important to understand the five segments of this Dosha. These five sub doshas explain the direction of the movement and control the actions in the body.

The Five Sub Dosha’s of Vata Dosha

Prana Vayu – The First Sub Dosha (Forward Moving Air)

Prana Vayu is the important sub dosha that controls the senses, consciousness, brain and heart. It is located in the head and is considered the fundamental energy. It is the part of cosmic life energy and harmonizes the other Vatas in the body. It determines our motivation and links us with our inner self.

From air to food and senses to thoughts, this sub dosha Prana Vayu is responsible for the reception of everything into the body. This sub dosha can help an individual obtain optimum advantages from yogic practices. The Prana Vayu and another sub dosha i.e Apana Vayu always worked together but in opposite ways. If we want to understand in short, the Prana Vayu receives and the Apana Vayu eliminates.

Samana Vayu – The Second Sub Dosha (Equalizing Air)

Well, the second sub dosha of Vata is important too as it is very important for the two sub doshas. It helps in balancing the Prana Vayu & Apana Vayu. This sub dosha is responsible for assimilation and digestion.

Samana Vayu can be understood as balancing air. It is one of the five vayus (five sub doshas) that make up prana. Samana Vayu is supposed to live in the gut with the navel as its energy base and controls the digestion of everything from food to thoughts.

Vyana Vayu, The Third Sub Dosha (Outward Moving Air)

Vyana Vayu sits in the heart & lungs and pervades the whole body. In Ayurveda and Hindu tradition, there are five elements i.e Fire, Earth, Water, Air & Ether. These are represented as Vayus. The third sub dosha of Vata is connected with the water. It runs through the nadis in the body and connects all functions of the body.

The Fourth Sub Dosha, Udana Vayu (Upward Moving Air)

Udana Vayu, a channel from the lower to the upper level of consciousness. This sub dosha or Vayu is responsible for regulating speech, growth and self-expression. It is derived from a Sanskrit word that means ascending air or upward moving air. In other words, it can be understood as a sub dosha that controls the exhalation, speech, energy, complexions endeavour, memory and enthusiasm. It decides our desires.

Apana Vayu, the 5th Sub Dosha (Downward Moving Air)

Like the Prana Vayu, this dosha or Vayu is also considered the most important. It is responsible for digestion, reproduction and elimination. This vayu is active in the pelvic and lower abdominal areas. It is centred in the colon.

This vayu is responsible for the activities like elimination, urination, menstruation, parturition and sexual activities. It backs and controls all the forms of Vata. It must be surprising but it is fact that the Apana Vayu is the main consideration in the Vata Dosha treatment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *